Archive for the ‘Formula One’ Category

Lewis Hamilton won his fifth Formula One title at the Brazilian Gran Prix and Mercedes Benz won the Constructor’s title

November 11, 2018


Photo Credit: Paulo Whitaker / Reuters

Starting from the pole position, Lewis Hamilton of England won the Brazilian Gran Prix on Nov. 11, 2018 at the Interlagos circuit in San Paulo. It was Hamilton’s 10th win of the Formula One season.  Hamilton’s win helped Mercedes Benz win the Constructor’s title for the fifth straight year.

Hamilton finished less than two seconds ahead of second place finisher Max Verstappen of Holland of the Red Bull team.  Kimi Raikkonen of Finland, driving for the Ferrari team, finished in third place.

Force India’s Esteban Ocon of France collided with Verstappen on the 43rd lap of the 71-lap race when the Dutchman was in the lead.  Verstappen was attempting to lap Ocon, who did not move his car to the side.

“Ocon, running way down the order, bizarrely raced wheel-to-wheel at 200 mph with [Verstappen] before banging into the right-rear of Verstappen’s car through the Senna Esses.”  Source: Phil Duncan, Lewis Hamilton wins Brazilian GP as Max Verstappen confronts Esteban Ocon after collision, The Telegraph (Nov. 11, 2018).

Verstappen made a valiant effort to regain the lead but could never catch up with Hamilton.  Verstappen called Ocon a “f***ing idiot” over his radio.

Ocon was assessed a 10-second stop-and-go penalty, the most severe punishment that could be given out by the race stewards.

Valtteri Bottas of Finland had the fastest lap (1:10:54.0) on Lap 65 in his Mercedes.

Race Results:

First — Lewis Hamilton (England) Mercedes 1:27:9.066

Second — Max Verstappen (Holland) Red Bull 1:27:10.535.

Third — Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:27:13.830

Fourth — Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 1:27:14.259

Fifth — Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes 1:27:32.009

Sixth — Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 1:27:36.063

A total of 18 cars finished the race.  Two cars retired before the end of the race.

Hamilton has now won the Formula One championship five times: 2008, 2014, 2015, 2017 and 2018. (He won four with Mercedes and one with McLaren.) Hamilton is now tied for second place with the most Formula One championships. Juan Manuel Fangio also won the championship five times: 1951, 1954, 1955, 1956 and 1957.

Vettel has won the championship four times: 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013.  Alain Prost of France also won the championship four times: 1985, 1986, 1989 and 1993.

Michael Schumacher of Germany holds the record for winning the championship seven times: 1994, 1995 and 2000-2004.  Schumacher has been severely disabled since Dec. 29, 2013, when he suffered a major brain injury in a skiing accident.

The only Americans to win the Formula won championship were Phil Hill (1961) and Mario Andretti (1978).  Five drivers have won the championship three times: Jack Brabham of Australia (1959, 1960 and 1966), Jackie Stewart of Scotland (1969, 1971 and 1973), Niki Lauda of Austria (1975, 1977 and 1984), Nelson Piquet of Brazil (1982, 1983 and 1987) and Ayrton Senna of Brazil (1988, 1990 and 1991).

Ferrari has won the Constructor’s title 16 times.   Williams won nine times, McLaren won eight times and Lotus won seven times.


Photo Credit: Federation Internationale De L-Automobile (FIA)